你应该知道的谷歌质量评级器指南

  • Felix Rose-Collins
  • 1 min read
你应该知道的谷歌质量评级器指南

目录

介绍

大多数SEO行业的人都对理解谷歌算法的难度感到吃惊。然而,如果我们告诉你,有一种方法可以准确地解读谷歌期望其算法如何工作呢?

谷歌在《质量评级器指南》文件中分解了他们的算法是如何工作的,但这是一个有点冗长的阅读。为了使我们的读者更容易理解这些准则,我们已经提前将该文件浓缩为你需要知道的最关键的东西。

在本指南中,我们将首先介绍什么是质量评估员,我们将讨论谷歌的质量指南,我们将分解SEO行业的工作者需要了解的内容。

谷歌质量评级器的基本知识

质量评分员是为谷歌工作的人,他们对谷歌提供给用户的结果与他们的需求的匹配程度进行排名。这个团队可以是10,000到100,000人之间的任何地方,因为谷歌在谈到他们的质量评估员时并没有给出确定的数字。

利用他们从这个团队获得的反馈,谷歌可以确定他们需要如何改变他们的算法。虽然这些准则可能不会对排名或算法产生直接影响,但它们在很大程度上影响了它,并决定了它将随着时间的推移而发展的方式。

谷歌质量指南的细节

这些准则旨在让评分者了解他们应该如何对搜索结果进行评分。你会发现它们在 谷歌长达172页的文件并对几乎所有的情况进行了说明。

该文件有三个部分。

  • 需求满足评级指南:**这些讨论了搜索是否符合移动用户的需求。

  • 了解移动用户的需求:这涵盖了评分者需要知道的谷歌希望与移动用户互动的方式。

  • 网页质量评级指南:**这是最大的部分,它涵盖了评级员应该知道的关于高质量搜索的一切。涵盖的部分包括E-A-T信号,页面的目的,谁拥有一个网站,内容的质量,以及一个网站的声誉。

SEO公司需要了解质量评级指南的哪些内容?

请记住,这份技术性很强的文件对SEO公司来说并不都是有用的,因为它主要是为Google的员工制定的。但是,如果你知道去哪里找,你就能找到一些有用的信息,让你在SEO领域加强努力。

你需要知道的是:

###网站代表是基于其他网站的说法

你没有理由对你的网站只说好话,所以谷歌倾向于通过其他网站来确定你的声誉。这意味着,你需要密切关注这些其他网站对你和你的业务的评价。

当一个评级者在确定一个网站的声誉价值时,谷歌告诉他们,他们应该检查维基百科的文章、新文章、杂志文章、博客帖子、论坛帖子和第三方评级公司。这些都是你需要寻找的来源。

> 如果你在谷歌上搜索"domainname.com ",你就能看到其他提到你的网站,并了解他们的说法。

请记住,你可以使用这种技术,而不仅仅是弄清楚别人对你的评价。利用你从这些搜索中了解到的信息,你将能够弥补你的业务中的弱点,而这些弱点别人是可以清楚地察觉到的。

###不要忽视负面评论

礼仪人员常犯的一个错误是,只关注正面的评论而不去处理负面的评论。有无数的网站可以找到关于你的品牌的评论,包括AmazonYelpBBB,和Google Shopping。这些都是谷歌建议他们的评分员检查评论的网站。

不要忽视任何负面评论,事实上,花时间去研究它们

通过解决你的企业所遇到的问题,以及这些评论中所提到的问题,你将能够解决客户服务、产品和你网站上的信息等方面的关键问题。这将确保你的客户保留率更高,你的SEO排名也更高。

###不要害怕显示你是一个领域的专家

*E-A-T是谷歌算法的一个重要部分,如果你习惯于在SEO领域工作,你可能已经知道这一点。

  • E代表专业知识。

  • A代表权威。

  • T代表信任。

这一切汇集在一起,创造出质量更高的内容。

谷歌用E-A-T很好地勾勒出了网站质量的说明。他们基本上指出,你应该考虑页面的主题,并确定该页面需要什么样的专业知识来满足其目的。

由于专业知识与页面的信任和权威直接相关,这确实是你要问自己的唯一问题。专业知识可以根据你所从事的行业而有所不同。例如,如果你是一名医生,那么你就拥有提供医疗建议所需的专业知识。

另一方面,如果你提供SEO建议,那么你将需要完成课程并在该领域工作相当长的时间来获得必要的专业知识。

谷歌已经提出了一些提示,当你确定你是否符合E-A-T公式的义务时,你可以参考这些提示。

  • 确保你的信息来源是明确的

  • 包括一个关于页面,以确保你的网站或你的作者是可识别的,读者可以了解更多关于他们的信息

  • 讨论你在你的领域是多么的专家

  • 确保编辑你的内容,以防止你所提供的信息中出现任何潜在的错误

请记住,这可能并不同样适用于所有行业,因为它们之间存在着广泛的差异。看看那些在你的行业中排名最高的网站,弄清楚他们是如何让人感觉到他们是本领域的专家。

###展示页面上创建内容的人

谷歌喜欢知道某个页面上的信息来自哪里,这就是为什么你会在大多数内容的底部发现一个小片段,上面写着某篇文章的作者。

例如,如果你在你的网站上发表了一篇博文,在页面的底部应该有一个小方框,上面有作者的图像和讨论他们资格的简短传记。

请记住,你的作者不一定需要有大量的文凭来表明他们有资格和能力创造好的内容。然而,你应该概述他们的经验或理由,为什么他们有资格首先写这个主题。

###确保你的关于页面保持更新

如果你的网站不一定需要关于作者或负责该页的人的额外信息,你总是可以在你的网站本身进行扩展。你要确保你的 "关于 "页面具有人们想知道的关于你的所有信息,并且这些信息是最新的。

如果你的文章没有展示作者和内容创作者的典型简介,你甚至可以在关于页面中加入这些内容。这将确保人们了解你网站上的信息是值得信赖的。

###你的钱,你的生活网站和E-A-T

也被称为YMYL网站,你的钱,你的生活网站是有可能对你的钱,你的安全,你的健康,或你的幸福产生影响的网站。下面是这类网站的一个简短清单。

  • 安全网站

  • 健康和健身网站

  • 金融网站

  • 购物网站

  • 新闻网站

  • 政府和法律网站

  • 学院网站

  • 特定群体的网站

  • 工作网站

由于这些网站上潜在信息的重要性,谷歌要求他们的评分员确保这些网站的信息质量达到标准。

举个例子,在健康和健身领域运作的网站确保他们的事实经过双重检查和同行评议。除了这些事实检查,这个行业的网站还包含关于写文章的人的额外信息,这些作者有更长、更详细的传记。

YMYL领域的许多网站还获得了支持他们的辅助意见。这种意见可以来自另一个网站,或者来自与你的网站没有必然联系的专家。从专家那里得到一句话或一个意见可以在很大程度上证明你的专业知识。

###确保你的网站是可靠的

你的网站的可靠性是你需要考虑的一个关键特征,因为可能有许多功能乍一看不错,但最终完全停止工作。质量评估员将通过一个网站,检查几次,以确定这些功能是否真正持续良好地工作。

如果你想确保你的网站工作正常,最好的方法是在多台机器上测试,包括桌面和移动设备。

  • 从检查你网站上的互动工具开始,因为这些是最常见的故障点。

  • 看看你网站上的嵌入式视频,因为它们有很多方法可能出错。一些视频可能在错误的分辨率下播放,而另一些则根本不工作。

  • 确保你的结账和付款处理工作正常,将东西添加到你的购物车,并亲自经历这一过程。

远离负面因素

有几条准则对应该对网站产生负面影响的事情进行了规定,它们可以被总结成这样。

> 避免创建一个对用户没有好处的网站,或不试图帮助用户解决一个问题或问题。那些试图造成伤害、对用户撒谎和散布仇恨的网站应该被评为最低等级。

虽然这些是你能做的最糟糕的事情,但也有一些不太严重的低质量做法,你要避免。

> 尽量不要创建标题有点击率的帖子,以达到压倒性的程度,特别是如果你的页面不会回答标题中的问题。你还应该确保你的内容不是从其他来源刮来的或复制的,因为这将使你受到比点击广告标题更严厉的惩罚。

###广告应该被优雅地实施

谷歌明白,如果不是因为他们的广告,他们就无法赚钱。该公司明白,广告需要被放置在网站上,如果不是在他们的页面上有广告,一些网站会很快枯萎的。

另一方面,谷歌也希望确保网站以最好的方式使用广告,而不改变访问者的体验,使其变得更糟。

浏览一下你的网站,看看上面有哪些广告。之后,你就能看到访客是如何体验你的网站的,以及你的广告是否太具干扰性,使他们无法正常体验网站。

确定你的广告是否可能是粗糙的或图形的。看一看它们是否覆盖了页面上的任何信息。像这样的广告会因为质量低而降低你的搜索排名。

同样重要的是,让你的访问者知道他们正在看一个广告,这样他们就不会把它们与你网站上的内容一样混淆为权威性。这对医疗和金融网站尤其重要。

你可能想在你的内容的顶部包括一个简单的免责声明,让你的访问者知道你网站上的一些内容将由合作伙伴支付。

###修整你的404页面

在大多数情况下,谷歌并没有提到关于你的404页面的任何技术问题,以及为什么它们不应该出现,但它确实提到了这些页面应该如何与访问者互动。404页面应该看起来不错,而且应该让访客知道他们为什么会出现在这个页面上。

不是每个网站的访问者都有必要的技术知识来理解404页面到底是什么,所以你要让他们明白,他们并没有到达他们想要去的地方。一个基本的404页面会简单地说,无法找到该页面,所以访问者可能会浪费时间,以其他方式寻找它。

如果你想使你的404页面有用,你应该包括一个搜索栏或可能的一些链接,导致你网站的相关区域。这将确保访客留在你的网站上,而不是在找不到他们要找的东西时感到沮丧和离开。

当你对网站进行修改时,你要确保你的404页面是符合标准的,因为很有可能最终会出现一些问题。为了确保流向你的404页面的流量被重定向到你网站上的其他位置,你要遵循我们上面提到的建议。

请记住,无论如何,404页面都是一个错误,所以你不希望人们接触到它们,但你可以通过使它们更有用、更有吸引力来减少它们所带来的打击。最好的解决方案是通过使用重定向来减少看到你的404页面的访问者的数量。

你可以使用Ranktracker的网络审计工具集来发现你网站上的哪些链接被破坏,使用过滤器来找到404页面。如果一个页面有反向链接,确保它被重定向到正确的地方就更加重要了。

###关键词新鲜度和搜索意图的重要性

随着时间的推移,当涉及到处理谷歌的算法时,搜索意图变得越来越重要,而忽视它是一个错误。考虑一下搜索来自哪里,以及谁在首先进行搜索。

一个很好的例子是,足球这个词在不同地方有什么不同。来自欧洲的人进行搜索时,会寻找足球。来自美国的人在搜索时将会寻找美式足球。请记住,这个例子在谷歌的质量评级指南中被逐字提及。

当在这个行业工作时,你要确保你的关键词在不同的地域范围内保持相关性。你也要确保你的关键词的含义是可变的,足以让你制定一个强大的SEO策略,无论你的客户位于何处。

当涉及到搜索意图时,位置并不是你需要注意的唯一事情。你还必须考虑到搜索时的时间和季节。人们在冬天和夏天会寻找不同类型的衣服,所以一定要把你要推销的产品进行相应的调整。

然而,日期不仅仅对搜索意图很重要,因为你还想确保你的内容尽可能频繁地更新。如果有人在搜索一个活动,那么他们很可能不想听到这个活动的去年的版本。更新你的帖子,确保它们展示该类型的最新活动。

这包括在指南的移动用户需求部分,但它适用于每个网站,无论是在移动端还是在桌面端。谷歌将此特别列入指南的这一部分的唯一原因是,由于源自移动设备的搜索日益普及,他们正试图确保所有网站首先关注其移动端。

结语

虽然谷歌的质量评级准则可能不会告诉我们关于搜索引擎算法的任何革命性的东西,但它证实了我们关于该算法的一些理论。在许多情况下,当涉及到网站管理员时,谷歌列出的质量准则之间存在着很大程度的重叠。

然而,我们在浏览这些指南时注意到一些事情,包括谷歌想要惩罚恶意或欺骗性的内容。另一方面,谷歌希望鼓励网站运营者创建高质量的内容,以解决问题和关切。

请记住,高质量的内容不仅仅是指从外表看起来不错的内容。你也要确保内容能帮助人们解决问题,直接解决他们关心的问题,而不需要花太多时间进入正题或间接地去谈事情。

我们遇到的一个更令人大开眼界的认识是,网站的声誉不仅仅是由网站本身决定的。谷歌对其他网站对你的网站的评价给予了很大的重视。当你考虑到这一点时,这是有道理的,因为没有一个网站经营者在他们的头脑中会说任何关于自己的负面信息。

这些准则也向我们表明,谷歌明白他们的算法不能完成任何事情,他们需要由实际的人执行的检查和平衡。这就是这些质量检查员的职责:确保谷歌的算法按预期工作。

虽然机器学习已经取得了长足的进步,但算法仍然无法弥补人类思维的适应性和智慧。随着算法对越来越多的搜索者负责,维持这些检查和平衡的重要性变得更加关键。

我们从所有这些中收集到的信息是,谷歌正在利用其算法来确保显示在顶部的内容是真实的。他们希望他们的算法尽可能难以被愚弄,因为这将导致廉价的、无益的内容漂浮在顶部,破坏谷歌的声誉。

免费试用Ranktracker

What You Should Know About Google Quality Raters Guidelines

  • Felix Rose-Collins
  • 11 min read
What You Should Know About Google Quality Raters Guidelines

Table of Contents

Intro

Most people in the SEO industry are taken aback by the difficulty of understanding the Google algorithm. However, what if we told you that there’s a way to decipher exactly how Google expects its algorithm to work?

Google breaks down how their algorithm works in the Quality Raters Guidelines document, but it’s a bit of a lengthy read. To make it easier for our readers to understand these guidelines, we’ve gone ahead and condensed the document down into the most crucial things you’ll need to know.

In this guide, we’ll cover what quality raters are in the first place, we’ll discuss Google’s quality guidelines, and we’ll break down what workers in the SEO industry need to understand.

The Basics of Google Quality Raters

Quality raters are people who work for Google to rank how well the results that Google provides users with match their needs. This team can be anywhere between 10,000 and 100,000 people since Google doesn’t give firm numbers when it comes to their quality raters.

Using the feedback they’ve gained from this team, Google can determine how they need to change up their algorithm. While these guidelines may not have a direct impact on the rankings or algorithm, they heavily influence it and determine the way it will evolve over time.

The Details of Google’s Quality Guidelines

These guidelines are designed to give raters an idea of how they should rate search results. You’ll find them in Google’s document that’s 172 pages long and goes over just about every situation.

There are three parts to the document:

  • Needs Met Rating Guidelines: These discuss whether or not a search matches the needs of a mobile user.

  • Understanding Mobile User Needs: This covers what raters need to know about how Google wants to interact with mobile users.

  • Page Quality Rating Guidelines: This is the largest section, and it covers everything that raters should know about a quality search. Sections covered include EAT signals, the page’s purpose, who owns a site, the quality of the content, and a site’s reputation.

What Do SEO Firms Need to Know About Quality Rating Guidelines?

Keep in mind that this deeply technical document won’t all be useful for SEO firms because it’s mainly made for Google’s employees. However, if you know where to look, you’ll be able to find some helpful information that will allow you to enhance your efforts in the SEO field.

Here’s what you need to know:

Site Rep is Based on What Other Sites Say

There’s no reason why you would say anything but good things about your website, so Google tends to go to other sites to determine your reputation. This means that you’ll need to keep a close eye on what these other sites are saying about you and your business.

When a rater is determining the value of a site’s reputation, Google tells them that they should check Wikipedia articles, new articles, magazine articles, blog posts, forum threads, and third-party rating companies. These are the sources you’ll need to look to.

If you search "domainname.com" on Google, you’ll be able to see other sites that have mentioned yours and learn more about what they’re saying.

Keep in mind that you can use this technique for more than just figuring out what others have to say about you. Using the info that you’ve learned from these searches, you’ll be able to plug weaknesses in your business that others can clearly perceive.

Don’t Ignore Negative Reviews

A common mistake that rite runners make is failing to address negative reviews by only focusing on the positive ones. There are countless sites where you can find reviews about your brand, including Amazon, Yelp, the BBB, and Google Shopping. These are all of the sites that Google recommends that their raters check for reviews.

Don’t ignore any negative reviews, in fact, take the time to study them.

By fixing the issues that your business is having and which are posted in these reviews, you’ll be able to address key problems in the areas of customer service, products, and the info that is featured on your site. This will ensure that your customer retention is better and that your SEO rankings are higher.

Don’t Be Afraid to Show That You’re an Expert in Your Field

EAT is a huge part of Google’s algorithm, and you might already know this if you’re used to working in the SEO field.

  • E stands for Expertise,

  • A stands for Authority,

  • T stands for Trust.

This all comes together to create content that is of higher quality.

Google outlines the instructions for coming up with a site’s quality using EAT pretty well. They essentially state that you should consider the topic of the page and determine what kind of expertise would be required for the page to meet its purpose.

Since expertise is directly linked with a page’s trust and authority, this is really the only question you’re going to have to ask yourself. Expertise can vary based on the industry that you’re working in. For example, if you’re a doctor, then you have the expertise required to give medical advice.

On the other hand, if you’re giving SEO advice, then you’re going to need to have completed courses and worked in the field for quite a long time to gain the necessary expertise.

Google has come up with a few tips that you can refer to when you’re determining if you’re meeting the obligations of the EAT formula:

  • Make sure your info’s source is clear

  • Include an about page to ensure that your site or your author is recognizable and that readers can learn more about them

  • Discuss how much of an expert you are in your field

  • Be sure to edit your content for any potential errors in the info you’re providing

Remember that this may not apply equally to all industries because of the wide range of differences between them. Take a look at the sites that are ranking the highest in your industry to figure out how they’re making it obvious that they are experts in their field.

Showcase the Person Who Has Created the Content on the Page

Google likes to know where the info on a certain page is coming from, and that’s usually why you’ll find a small snippet that goes over the author of a particular piece at the bottom of most content.

For example, if you’ve published a blog post on your site, there should be a small box at the bottom of the page with an image of the author and a short biography discussing their qualifications.

Keep in mind that your author doesn’t necessarily need a bevy of diplomas to show that they’re qualified and capable of creating good content. However, you should outline their experience or reasons why they’re qualified to write about the topic in the first place.

Make Sure That Your About Page Remains Updated

If your site doesn’t necessarily need additional information about the author or person responsible for the page, you can always expand on your site itself. You’ll want to make sure that your about page features all of the info that people would want to know about you and that the info is current.

If your posts don’t have the typical blurbs showcasing authors and content creators, you can even include them in the about page. This will ensure that people understand that the info on your site is trustworthy.

Your Money, Your Life Sites and EAT

Also known as YMYL sites, Your Money, Your Life sites are sites that can potentially have an effect on your money, your safety, your health, or your happiness. Here’s a short list of these kinds of sites:

  • Safety sites

  • Health and fitness sites

  • Finance sites

  • Shopping sites

  • News sites

  • Government and law sites

  • College sites

  • Sites for specific groups

  • Job sites

Due to the importance of the info that is potentially on these sites, Google asks their raters to make sure that the quality of the info on these sites is up to par.

To give you an example, sites that operate in the health and fitness space ensure that their facts are double-checked and peer-reviewed. Along with these fact checks, sites in this industry contain additional info about the people who write their articles and those authors have longer, more detailed biographies.

Many sites in the YMYL space also get a secondary opinion that backs theirs up. This opinion can come from another site or from an expert that isn’t necessarily associated with your site. Getting a quote or an opinion from an expert can go a long way towards proving your expertise.

Make Sure That Your Site is Reliable

Your site’s reliability is a key feature that you’ll need to account for because there may be many features that look good at first glance but eventually stop working altogether. Quality raters will go through a site and examine things a few times to determine if those features actually work consistently well.

If you want to make sure that your site is working properly, the best way to do so is to test it across multiple machines, both desktop and mobile.

  • Start by checking out interactive tools on your site because these are the most common points of failure.

  • Take a look at the embedded videos on your site because there are many ways that they can go wrong. Some videos may play at the wrong resolution while others will simply not work at all.

  • Make sure that your checkout and payment processing work fine by adding things to your cart and going through the process yourself.

Stay Away From Negative Factors

There are a few guidelines that go over things that should negatively impact a site, and they can be summed up like this:

Avoid creating a site that has no benefits to its users or don’t attempt to help their users solve a question or an issue. Sites that try to cause harm, lie to their users, and spread hate should be rated the lowest of all.

While these are the worst things that you can do, there are also a few less severe low-quality practices that you’ll want to avoid:

Try not to create posts that have clickbait titles to an overwhelming level, especially if your page won’t answer the question featured in the title. You should also make sure that your content isn’t scraped or copied from another source, as that will penalize you even more harshly than clickbait titles.

Ads Should Be Implemented Gracefully

Google understands that they wouldn’t be able to make money if it wasn’t for their ads. The company understands that ads need to be placed on sites, and that some sites would quickly wither on the vine if it weren’t for the ads featured on their pages.

On the other hand, Google also wants to make sure that sites use ads in the best possible ways without changing the experience of visitors for the worse.

Go through your site and take a look at the ads that are featured on it. After that, you’ll be able to see how visitors experience your site and whether your ads are too intrusive for them to be able to experience the site properly.

Determine if your ads may be crude or graphic. Take a look at whether they cover any of the info on the page. Ads like these will lower your search rankings due to their low quality.

It’s also important to let your visitors know when they’re looking at an ad so that they won’t confuse them for being as authoritative as the content on your site. This is especially important for medical and financial sites.

You may want to include a simple disclaimer at the top of your content that lets your visitors know that some of the content on your site will have been paid for by partners.

Spruce Up Your 404 Pages

In most cases, Google doesn’t mention anything technical about your 404 pages and why they shouldn’t appear, but it does go over how these pages should interact with the visitor. 404 pages should look good and they should give the visitor an idea of why they’re on the page in the first place.

Not every site visitor has the technical knowledge required to understand exactly what a 404 page is, so you’ll want to let them understand that they aren’t where they were trying to get to. A basic 404 page will simply say that the page couldn’t be found, so a visitor may waste time looking for it in another way.

If you want to make your 404 page useful, you should include a search bar or possibly some links that lead to related areas of your site. This will ensure that a visitor stays on your site instead of getting frustrated and leaving when they can’t find what they were looking for.

When you make changes to a site, you’ll want to ensure that your 404 page is up to par because it’s very likely that something will end up breaking. To ensure that the flow of traffic to your 404 pages is redirected to other spots on your site, you’ll want to follow the advice that we mentioned above.

Keep in mind that 404 pages are a mistake regardless, so you don’t want people to be reaching them but you can minimize the blow that they have by making them more useful and attractive. The best possible solution is to cut down on the number of visitors who see your 404 page by using redirects.

You can use the Ranktracker’s Web Audit tool set to discover which links on your site are broken using a filter to find 404 pages. If a page has backlinks, it’s even more important to ensure that it’s redirected to the right place.

The Importance of Keyword Freshness and Search Intent

Search intent has become more and more important over time when it comes to dealing with Google’s algorithm, and ignoring it is a mistake. Consider where searches are coming from and who is making them in the first place.

One great example is how the term football differs from place to place. Someone from Europe making that search would be looking for soccer. Someone from the US making that search would be looking for American football. Keep in mind that this example is mentioned word for word in Google’s Quality Rater Guidelines.

When working in the industry, you’ll want to ensure that your keywords will remain relevant across geographical boundaries. You’ll also want to make sure that the meaning of your keywords is mutable enough for you to develop a robust SEO strategy regardless of where your customers are located.

Location isn’t the only thing that you’ll need to pay attention to when it comes to search intent. You’ll also have to account for the time and season when the search is being made. People will look for different types of clothes in winter and summer, so be sure to swap out the products that you’re trying to market accordingly.

Date matters for more than just search intent, however, as you’ll also want to make sure that your content is updated as frequently as possible. If someone is searching for an event, then they likely won’t want to hear about last year’s version of that event. Update your posts and make sure that they showcase the latest events of that type.

This is included in the Mobile User Needs part of the guidelines but it applies to every site, both on mobile and on desktop. The only reason why Google includes this specifically in that part of the guidelines is because they’re trying to ensure that all sites focus on their mobile side first due to the growing popularity of searches originating from mobile devices.

Conclusion

While Google’s Quality Rater Guidelines may not tell us anything revolutionary about the search engine’s algorithm, it confirms some of the theories that we had about the algorithm. In many cases, there is a significant degree of overlap between the quality guidelines that Google has listed out when it comes to webmasters.

However, there are a few things that we noticed when we were going through these guidelines, including the fact that Google wants to penalize malicious or deceptive content. On the flipside, Google wants to encourage site runners to create high-quality content that addresses questions and concerns.

Keep in mind that high-quality content is more than just content that looks good from the outside. You also want to make sure that content helps people out by addressing their concerns directly without taking too much time to get to the point or going about things indirectly.

One of the more eye-opening realizations that we came across was that site reputation is determined by more than just the site itself. Google puts a lot of stock into what other sites have to say about your site. When you think about this, it makes sense because no site runner in their right mind would ever say anything negative about themselves.

These guidelines also show us that Google understands that their algorithm can’t accomplish anything, and they need checks and balances that are enforced by actual human beings. That’s what these quality checkers are responsible for: making sure that Google’s algorithm is working as intended.

While machine learning has come a long way, algorithms still aren’t able to make up for the adaptability and intelligence of a human mind. As the algorithm becomes responsible for more and more searchers, the importance of maintaining these checks and balances becomes far more crucial.

What we’ve gathered from all of this is that Google is using its algorithm to make sure that the content that shows up at the top is genuine. They want their algorithm to be as difficult to fool as possible because that would lead to cheap, unhelpful content floating to the top and ruining Google’s reputation.

Comments

Try Ranktracker for FREE