如何在2021年进行内容审计

  • Felix Rose-Collins
  • 2 min read
如何在2021年进行内容审计

目录

介绍

要制定一个好的战略来推销你的生意,可能会很困难。 业务。弄清楚如何达到你的营销目标可能是一个挑战。 挑战,而这往往是你创造的内容的问题。请记住 牢记,你必须仔细计算你将如何 你的营销方法。

如果你不能制定正确的计划,如何为你的企业创造 的内容,你最终可能会造成更大的损失。 否则。你可以通过重新制作现有的内容来节省大量的资金 可能已经在你的网站上。如果你想确定 如果你想确定你现有内容的质量,你可能希望进行一次内容审计,以便 弄清楚你应该把什么放在那里。

什么是内容审计?

内容审计通过分析你的网站上的所有内容,并将其归类。 分析它,并把它归为一组。通过进行内容审计。 你将能够发现你的网站有什么问题,以及什么是 哪些方面在起作用。你也将能够确定哪些变化 需要进行哪些改变,这样你就可以为未来建立一个内容计划。 未来。

什么是网站质量审计?

网站质量审计对于希望提高其网站效率的企业来说是至关重要的。 他们的网站的效率。搜索引擎在决定哪些网站会在搜索中出现在较高位置时,会检查网站的质量 检验一个网站的质量水平,以确定哪些网站会在搜索结果页中出现得更高。 结果页中出现的位置。一个网站的质量得分要比一系列因素重要得多。 当涉及到谷歌算法时,一个网站的质量分数比一系列的因素更重要。

这将影响你的网站被搜索引擎索引或抓取的频率。 这将影响你的网站被搜索引擎索引或抓取的频率,这将反过来影响你的排名。

你需要优化你的SEO,这样你就可以提高你的排名,并 让谷歌给你一个更高的有机质量分数。通过提高 这个分数,你将能够得到一个更好的排名,因为你的网站 将被谷歌的算法优先考虑。谷歌有一系列广泛的 衡量标准和工具,他们用这些来计算你的网站是如何 表现。

如果你希望对你的网站进行更快、更容易的审计,你 应该使用简单而有效的Ranktracker Web Audit 工具。

###确定你的网站的质量

有几件事你可以做,以提高你的网站的 质量得分在谷歌的排名,所以让我们来看看。

第一步是确保你的网站的编码和结构符合 根据谷歌网站管理员指南正确编码和结构。

例如,谷歌优先考虑那些有高质量内容的网站,这些内容要符合搜索者的意图。 匹配寻找它的人的搜索意图。该内容还 需要有深度。你的网站也应该在广泛的 因为这是衡量其受欢迎程度的一个很好的标准。

这实质上向你展示了搜索引擎如 谷歌看到你的内容。了解谷歌算法用来确定你的网站排名的指标 用来决定你的网站排名的高度,可以给你一个关键的 当涉及到使你的网站看起来像一个更高质量的 在搜索引擎眼中具有更高的质量。

把内容审计文件放在一起

在你开始之前,你需要建立一个基础文件,用于内容审计。 你将用于你的内容审计。首先,创建一个表 然后使用一个模板或添加以下标题。

  • 注释

  • 部门

  • 下一步

  • 最终网址

  • 支柱

  • URL

  • 标题

  • 集群

  • 最后修改日期

  • 热门关键词

  • 字数

  • 排名

  • 数量

  • 平均排名

  • 跳出率

  • 会话

  • 印象数

  • 销售

  • 目标转换率

  • 转换率,以美元计

  • 链接

  • 损失的流量

  • 百分比变化

  • SERP点击率

用这些标题创建一个文件,然后复制和粘贴你从质量审计中得到的信息 你从质量审计中得到的信息,并粘贴到其中。

###主题建模

在我们指南的这一部分,我们将探讨主题集群 系统是如何工作的,也被称为枢纽和辐条模型。了解一个网站如何 将使你能够创建一个高质量的网站,使其在搜索引擎中看起来不错。 的高质量网站。内容组织是主题建模的基础部分。 模型的基础。

有许多不同形式的主题建模,但我们要看的是 我们要看的是中心和辐条模型,也被称为主题聚类。 聚类。有一个页面构成了这个模型的主干,而这些页面被称为支柱。 这些页面被称为支柱。这本质上是一个枢纽,用于 其余链接到它的帖子,被称为 集群。

每一个集群都将被链接到一个支柱,这是一个很好的方法来提高你的SEO。 改善你的SEO。组织你的内容将使你的排名更加 有竞争力。虽然支柱性帖子允许你展示你的 某个特定主题的知识,它们也将允许你链接到 许多其他内部页面。

通过将所有这些页面链接到内部,你将能够 确保你的网站上的各种页面易于往来。你网站上的 你的网站上的支柱页面将基本上充当高速公路,通过它 你的访问者可以通过它来访问各种群组。这些群组将 拓展到更复杂和详细的主题上。

通过将你的主题分组,你将能够提高你网站的用户体验 它也将使你的访客走在你希望的道路上 希望他们这样做。搜索算法是为了理解这些复杂的 相互作用,所以你能够提高你的网站的质量,这也将提高你的搜索结果。 这也将改善你的搜索结果。

保持你的网站有条理的主要好处是你能够 在内容创作方面制定战略。这将允许你 专注于作为你业务组成部分的主题。反过来 反过来,这意味着你能够更有效地针对你的活动 有效。当一切都被组织起来时,也将更容易确定哪些资源需要 使用的资源。

###主题集群模型

这里简要介绍一下你需要了解的主题 集群模型,以便你能获得更好的搜索引擎结果。

支柱页

这些页面是枢纽和辐条模型的基础部分,它们基本上是深入的页面,广泛地涉及主题。 它们基本上是深入的页面,广泛地进入你的业务相关的主题 你的业务相关的主题。你应该把重点放在与你企业的产品和服务 与你的企业所提供的产品和服务有关的关键词。 页面。

支柱页面应主要包括你的目标受众会感兴趣的主题。 兴趣的话题,而且它们应该与你所处的行业直接相关。 你所处的行业。这将使你能够通过推动进一步的流量来改善你的业务。 更多的流量给它。这些页面应该包含所有你的 访客想知道的一切。

集群页面

集群页面是网站上由支柱页面形成的枢纽上的辐条。 支柱页面形成的枢纽上的辐条。支柱页在更广泛的意义上探讨主题 丛集页面则进一步详细介绍支柱页面所讨论的内容,以便它们能够 详述,以便它们能够支持支柱页,并建立起 内部链接。

群集页将使你能够确保更多的人访问你的网站 因为它们会吸引那些正在搜索更详细的 主题的访问者。例如,如果你的支柱页上有需要支持的信息,你可以为它创建一个集群页。 被支持,你可以为它创建一个集群页面。

这些群组基本上允许你进一步充实你在支柱页中所涉及的主题 你在你的支柱文章中处理的主题。

###枢纽和辐条页面想法的发展

请记住,这些只是开发网站的枢纽和辐条模型的基本内容 开发网站的基础。你还需要一些内容创意,以便你 可以用你的受众会发现的东西来填充这些页面 相关的。

找到正确的内容创意是至关重要的,因为它将使你能够 找到能让你强调产品或服务的内容 你的公司正在销售的产品或服务。不幸的是,要弄清哪些内容想法对你来说是最有效的,这往往是非常 要弄清楚哪些内容想法对你来说是最有效的。 由于这些想法将是你战略的核心部分,它们需要 坚实。

有几个问题,你应该在想出这些想法时问自己 有几个问题,你应该问自己,以确保你得到尽可能好的结果。

这是否会回到我企业的产品、行业或服务?

我们已经提到,你所输出的内容需要 与你的业务打算做什么完全一致。这是 这是确保你发布的内容适用于你所在行业的一个重要部分。 你所处的行业。

如果你创建的内容与你的行业无关 的内容,那么你只是在浪费你的时间以及你的 资源。如果你要使用这些资源来创建内容,为什么不使用它们来创建相关的内容? 为什么不使用它们来创建相关的内容呢?

确保你能始终确保你的主题与你的产品或服务之间存在联系。 主题和你所提供的产品或服务之间的联系。这意味着 这意味着你将始终吸引正确的受众,并且你将保持 相关性。通过引入正确的受众,你也将确保你的 拥有最佳质量的流量。

创建尽可能好的内容将使你产生更多的 线索,但它也会让你把更多的这些线索转化为 销售。

这是可以讨论的事情吗?

你是否能详细讨论一个话题,将决定它是否适合在你的网站上进行内容营销。 它是否适合在你的网站上进行内容营销。 在谷歌上研究你的话题只能到此为止,因为不能保证你找到的话题值得放在网站上。 保证你找到的话题值得放在你的 网站上。

例如,如果你想创建关于医学主题的内容,你需要确保你所找到的信息值得放在你的网站上。 你需要确保你所提供的信息是有效的。简单地 仅仅做几个引文是不够的,你需要确保你所说的是真实的。 你所说的是真实的。这是内容创作过程中经常被忽视的部分。 内容创作过程中经常被忽视的部分,所以要确保你知道你的主题是什么 是什么。

在2018年,搜索算法有一个更新,基本上是 重新制定了内容营销策略。在这一变化之后,内容 营销人员不得不开始向更广泛的主题延伸。虽然 这有助于促进业务,但它也降低了网站的质量,因为 他们不太直接针对其受众。

在谷歌注意到网站基本上是在把欺骗性的信息 后,他们进一步完善了他们的算法,以惩罚这种 行为。如果你放出的信息明显不真实,或者仅仅是 的信息,你的搜索排名就会下降。你需要 确保你的内容有必要的深度,并且它是 也很受欢迎。

为了确保你的内容有一定的深度,你需要使用支柱和集群模式。 需要使用支柱和集群模型。你的受欢迎程度将取决于 你的内容有多吸引人,以及它的分享数量 有多少。

不要创建关于你不是专家的主题的内容。确保 确保你继续写你的企业最了解的主题 如果你想确保你的观众会认为你是真正的 和真实。

支柱和集群页面示例

比方说,我们正在为一家数字机构进行内容审计 (也许使用Ranktracker的审计软件)。我们首先要做的是 看一下这个假想的机构想要发布的主题 与他们的核心服务有关。对于这种类型的机构,其核心 服务将是设计、开发、PPC、SEO和社交媒体。

使用这些主题,你就可以为每一个主题想出支柱性的文章 的支柱文章,让读者对这些领域有一个广泛的了解。例如,一个关于技术性SEO的 关于技术性SEO的支柱可能会讨论诸如robot.txt, canonical标签,以及一般的技术性SEO。这些主题是直接 与行业内的服务有关。

A Look at URL Actions

URL动作本质上是一种指示,它提到了需要在一个特定的网页中包括哪些内容。 包括在一个特定的网页中。这与网页质量 审计有关,尽管行动和它们的分类会有一点不同。 不同。以下是你需要知道的。

保持原状

这个URL动作通常分配给你网站上较新的页面 网站上较新的页面。顾名思义,你要让这些页面保持原样 它们是什么。虽然这个页面可能还没有给你带来特殊的结果。 它可能需要一点时间才能开始吸引人们。最糟糕的是 的事情就是删除一个最近的页面。

此外,如果你有一个较老的页面,但仍在吸引超过100个 访客,你可以认为该页面是最新的,并且 它应该保持原样。

虽然修剪表现不佳的页面通常是一个好主意。 这个标签确保你不会最终删除那些可能没有得到结果但仍有潜力的页面。 得到结果但仍有潜力的网页。你应该只删除 那些对网站造成严重负担的页面。

301

比方说,你有一个目前没有产生任何流量的页面 并且没有链接到你的任何支柱。这些页面将需要 被重定向,因为它们拖累了你的网站,并对你的搜索结果产生了负面影响。 影响了你的搜索结果。

大多数内容审核员会对这样的页面进行404处理,但使用301 重定向将允许你保留一个有当前链接和 重定向。这是一种不太强硬的删除或重命名的方式 页面。

这将确保你将你的访问者引向有正确信息的页面 正确的信息,而不会像404那样失去流量。

###档案

如果你有一些对搜索引擎没有价值的页面,但你仍然想让它们对你的网站的访问者可见,那该怎么办呢? 但你仍然想让你的网站的访问者看到这些页面,怎么办? 访客可见呢?通过归档这些页面,。你可以确保它们最终不会 被搜索引擎抓取,所以它们最终不会影响你的 搜索排名。

例如,像BBC这样的网站可能有相关的内容,它希望 人们仍然能够访问,但他们希望保留他们的搜索 结果。在这些情况下,BBC将对他们的内容进行存档,以确保 它不会最终拖累网站的搜索结果。

这是通过改变你想存档的页面的URL结构来实现的。 归档,例如把它们放在一个/archives/ URL中。这通常是一个 对于有大量内容的老网站来说,这通常是个好办法。

这将允许你的访问者通过访问你网站的 归档部分的内容,但你的网站的这一部分也会被 挡住了搜索引擎。

###刷新

当你有一个正在失去关键词排名和流量的页面时,你将会 想刷新内容,特别是如果它有潜力获得更高的排名的话。 更高。你所要做的就是更新元标题和描述。 媒体、内部链接、标题,甚至可能是标题。

如果你正在处理一个支柱页面,并且你有很好的内容 深度,那么你可能只需要刷新URL。这意味着,你 这意味着你不会失去你的网站的精神,但它将确保这些变化 足够大,以恢复到你以前的流量和参与度 水平。

你可能希望改变标题标签,添加更多的关键词,或者甚至 改变标题,使其吸引更多的点击率。这将使你能够 获得更多的流量,而不需要完全重新制作页面。

###重写

如果你有与需要刷新的页面相同的问题,但内容缺乏深度。 内容缺乏深度,那么你最终可能需要重写该页面 完全重写。这将确保你的内容保持相关性。例如 例如,如果你的页面是关于2019年的最佳排名方式,那么在2021年,这根本 不会在2021年飞。

你需要更新该页面上的内容,以便吸引和保留访问者。 留住访客,所以你需要一个内容创作者来更新该页面的 信息。密切关注行业模式,以便 你不会在以后不得不再次重写文章。

重写内容可以确保你的内容始终是最高质量的。 它使你的网站在访问者和你试图排名的搜索引擎面前看起来很好。 你想要的排名。

###合并

如果你有几个页面涉及相同的内容,那么将它们合并是一个好主意 合并它们,这样它们就不会分割你的流量了。

这将使你的访问者更容易获得他们需要的内容 他们需要的内容,而不必访问多个页面。这将提高 访客保留率。

那么,你如何合并页面呢?最简单的方法是通过301重定向。 这将使你能够将内容合并到一个支柱页面,该页面 包含你的访问者需要知道的关于一个特定的 主题,提高内容深度。

###用链接锁定目标

如果你的内容不存在我们上面提到的任何问题 但它仍然没有排名,那么你可能希望用链接来锁定它。 链接。这将确保你通过一个链接建设活动来提高该网页的排名。 链接建设活动,以增加针对它的入站链接的数量 的数量。

##建立内容报告

当你完成所有这些工作后,你需要将其全部编入一份 报告,以便于你的客户或老板查阅。

不是每个人都有SEO方面的专业知识,需要了解这些技术问题。 很多这些技术性问题。你需要使用这份报告,使它 让不在你专业领域内的人也能看懂。由于许多 这些变化将是重大的,你需要透明地说明为什么 它们的发生。

避免把复杂的电子表格放在一起,因为这只会导致阅读者头痛。 让阅读的人头疼。以下是你的报告应该如何 组织。

  1. 以客户需要了解的内容的简要概述开始。

    1. 接着说你做了什么来找到你所拥有的信息。
  2. 3.介绍你从你实施的过程中收集到的信息。

    1. 解释中心和辐条模式,然后介绍目前网站上的支柱性议题。 目前在网站上。
    1. 查看结果,然后讨论你目前向客户建议的URL行动。 目前向客户建议的URL行动。
  3. 总结你发现的需要改变的地方。解释为什么有些页面需要 合并,以及为什么其他页面需要归档。

    1. 给出一个未来的策略,如果你的客户想在SEO方面取得成功,他们的内容需要如何 如果他们想在SEO方面获得成功,请给出未来的策略。
  4. 8.进行一次后续通话,你可以与客户进行实时的 与客户进行实时讨论,以便他们可以更容易地问你 关于任何可能仍然存在的问题。

##内容审计后该做什么

请记住,内容审计是完全可操作的,所以你需要 仔细研究结果,看看你能做些什么来充分利用你所看到的 你所看到的。当你这样做的时候,仔细检查结果,并将上面提到的一些 我们在上面提到的行动,分配给你认为需要帮助的URL。 如果你不对你收集到的见解采取行动,那么这些见解就没有用。 洞察力是无用的。

大多数时候,你会发现自己要么带头进行内容 合并或改写,尽管在有些情况下,你也会使用 其他的行动也是如此。

当你完成了对内容的审核并编制了一份报告后,将其发送给 给客户(如果你有的话)。解释审计中的内容,然后 概述你的客户将需要采取的步骤,以便他们能够 使其发挥最大作用。另外,一定要提到客户可能需要遵守的最后期限。 可能必须遵守的最后期限。

结论

你不需要让内容审计成为你自己的挑战,如果你使用Ranktracker的审计软件,它甚至更容易。 如果你使用Ranktracker的审计软件,它甚至更容易。这个 该软件可以让你加快一个原本耗时的过程,并 确保你的内容营销方法是尽可能的有效。 尽可能的有效。

我们上面提到的应该允许你做出你需要的改变 而不妨碍你的业务。

免费试用Ranktracker

How to Perform a Content Audit in 2021

  • Felix Rose-Collins
  • 13 min read
How to Perform a Content Audit in 2021

Table of Contents

Intro

It can be difficult to put together a good strategy to market your business. Figuring out how to reach your marketing goals can be a challenge, and it’s often a matter of the content you create. Keep in mind that you’ll have to carefully calculate how you’re going to approach your marketing.

If you fail to formulate the right plan for how you’re going to create content for your business, you may end up causing more damage than otherwise. You can save a lot of money by reworking existing content that may already be on your site. If you want to determine the quality of your existing content, you may wish to conduct a content audit to figure out what you should be putting out there.

What Are Content Audits?

Content audits go through all of the content on your website by analyzing it and putting it into groups. By conducting a content audit, you’ll be able to find out what’s wrong with your site as well as what’s working out with it. You will also be able to determine what changes need to be undertaken so that you can establish a content plan for the future.

What Are Website Quality Audits?

Website quality audits are crucial for businesses that wish to improve the efficiency of their sites. A search engine will examine the quality level of a site when it determines what will appear higher in a search results page. The quality score of a site is much more important than a wide range of factors when it comes to the Google algorithm.

This will affect how frequently your site is indexed or crawled by the search engine, which will in turn affect your rankings.

You need to optimize your SEO so that you can enhance your rankings and have Google assign you a higher organic quality score. By increasing this score, you will be able to get a better ranking because your site will be prioritized by Google’s algorithm. Google has a wide range of metrics and tools that they use to figure out how your site is performing.

If you wish to perform quicker and easier audits on your site, you should use the simple and effective Ranktracker Web Audit Tool.

Determining the Quality of Your Website

There are a few things that you can do to enhance how your site’s quality score is ranked by Google, so let’s go over them.

The first step is to ensure that your site is coded and structured properly according to the Google Webmaster Guidelines.

For example, Google prioritizes sites that have quality content that matches the search intent of the people looking for it. The content also needs to have depth. Your site should also get mentioned on a wide range of sites since that’s an excellent gauge of its popularity.

This essentially shows you the lens through which search engines like Google see your content. Knowing the metrics that the Google algorithm uses to determine how highly your site ranks can give you a crucial advantage when it comes to making your website look like it’s of higher quality in the eyes of the search engine.

Putting Together the Content Audit File

Before you get started, you’ll need to establish the base file that you’re going to use for your content audit. Start by creating a sheet and then use a template or add in the following headings:

  • Notes

  • Sections

  • Next step

  • Final URL

  • Pillar

  • URL

  • Title

  • Cluster

  • Meta

  • Last modified date

  • Top keyword

  • Word count

  • Ranking

  • Volume

  • Average top

  • Bounce rate

  • Sessions

  • Impressions

  • Sales

  • Goal conversion rate

  • Conversion rate in dollars

  • Links

  • Lost traffic

  • Percentage change

  • SERP CTR

Create a document with these headers and then copy and paste the info that you got out of your quality audit into it.

Topic Modeling

In this part of our guide, we’re going to explore how topic clusters systems work, also known as the hub and spoke model. Knowing how a site is modeled will allow you to create a quality site that will look good to search engines. Content organization is the building block of topic modeling.

There are many different forms of topic modeling, but the one we’re going to look at is the hub and spoke model, also known as topic clustering. There is one page that forms the backbone of this model, and these pages are known as pillars. This is essentially a hub for the remainder of the posts that are linked to it, which are known as clusters.

Every cluster will be linked to a pillar, and this is a good way to improve your SEO. Organizing your content will allow you to rank more competitively. While pillar posts allow you to demonstrate your knowledge about a particular topic, they will also allow you to link to many other internal pages.

By linking all of these pages together internally, you’ll be able to ensure that various pages on your site are easy to travel between. The pillar pages on your site will essentially act as highways through which your visitors can access the various clusters. These clusters will expand on more intricate and detailed topics.

By clustering your topics, you’ll be able to enhance the UX on your site and it will also make it so that your visitors travel the path that you want them to. Search algorithms are designed to understand these complex interactions, so you're able to improve the quality of your site, which will also improve your search results.

The main advantage of keeping your site organized is that you’re able to strategize when it comes to your content creation. This will allow you to focus on the topics that are the building blocks of your business. In turn, this means that you’re able to target your campaigns more effectively. It will also be easier to determine which resources need to be used when everything is organized.

Topic Cluster Model

Here’s a short overview about what you need to know about the topic cluster model so that you can get better search engine results.

Pillar Pages

These pages are the foundational aspect of the hub and spoke model and they are essentially in-depth pages that extensively go into the topics that your business is related to. You should focus on keywords that are related to the products and services that your business offers in these pages.

Pillar pages should mainly include topics that your target audience would be interested in, and they should relate directly to the industry that you’re in. This will allow you to improve your business by driving further traffic to it. These pages should contain everything that your visitors would want to know.

Cluster Pages

The cluster pages act as the spokes on the hubs that are formed by the pillar pages on your site. While pillar pages broach topics in a broader sense, cluster pages go into further detail about the things that are discussed on the pillar pages so that they can support them and create internal links.

Cluster pages will allow you to ensure that more people visit your site because they will draw in visitors who are searching for more detailed topics. For example, if you have info on your pillar page that needs to be supported, you can create a cluster page for it.

These clusters essentially allow you to further flesh out the topics that you’re addressing in your pillar articles.

Hub and Spoke Page Idea Development

Keep in mind that these are just the basics of the hub and spoke model for developing websites. You’ll also need some content ideas so that you can fill these pages up with things that your audience will find relevant.

Finding the right content ideas is crucial because it will allow you to find content that will allow you to emphasize the product or service that your company is selling. Unfortunately, it can often be very challenging to figure out which content ideas will work best for you. Since these ideas will be a central part of your strategy, they need to be solid.

There are a few questions that you should ask yourself when coming up with ideas to ensure that you get the best possible results out of them.

Will this Lead Back to My Business’s Product, Industry, or Service?

We’ve already mentioned that the content that you output needs to be fully in line with what you intend to do with your business. This is a big part of ensuring that the content you put out is applicable to the industry that you’re in.

When you create content about topics that are irrelevant to your industry, then you’re simply wasting your time as well as your resources. If you’re going to use these resources to create content, why not use them to create relevant content?

Make sure that you can always ensure that there’s a link between your topics and the products or services that you’re offering. This means that you’ll always draw in the right audience and that you’ll stay relevant. By bringing in the right audience, you’ll also ensure that you have the best quality traffic.

Creating the best possible content will allow you to generate more leads, but it will also allow you to convert more of those leads into sales.

Is This Something that can be Discussed?

Whether or not you can discuss a topic at length will determine whether or not it will be suitable for content marketing on your site. Researching your topics on Google will only go so far because there’s no guarantee that the topics you find will be worth putting up on your site.

For example, if you want to create content about medical topics, you’ll need to ensure that the info you’re putting out there is valid. Simply making a couple of citations isn’t enough, you’ll need to be sure that what you’re saying is true. This is an oft-overlooked part of the content creation process, so ensure that you know what your subjects are.

In 2018, there was an update to search algorithms that essentially reworked content marketing strategies. After this change, content marketers had to start branching out to a wider variety of topics. While this helped boost business, it also reduced the quality of sites because they were less directly targeted at their audiences.

After Google noticed that sites were essentially putting deceitful info out there, they further refined their algorithms to punish this kind of behavior. If you’re putting out info that is patently untrue or simply outside of your wheelhouse, your search rankings will drop. You need to ensure that your content has the necessary amount of depth and that it’s also popular.

To make sure that your content has a relevant amount of depth, you’ll need to use the pillar and cluster model. Your popularity will depend on how engaging your content is as well as the number of shares that it has.

Don’t create content about topics that you’re not an expert in. Make sure that you keep writing about the topics that your business knows best if you want to be sure that your audience will see you as genuine and authentic.

Pillar and Cluster Page Examples

Let’s say that we’re performing a content audit for a digital agency (perhaps using Ranktracker’s audit software). We’ll start by taking a look at the topics that this hypothetical agency would want to publish relating to their core services. For an agency of this type, the core services would be design, development, PPC, SEO, and social media.

Using these topics, you can then come up with pillar articles for each of them, giving readers a broad overview of these areas. For example, a pillar about technical SEO would likely discuss things like robot.txt, canonical tags, and technical SEO in general. These topics are directly related to services within the industry.

A Look at URL Actions

URL actions are essentially instructions that mention what needs to be included in a particular web page. This is related to web quality audits, though the actions and their classifications will be a little different. Here’s what you need to know:

Leave As-is

This URL action is usually assigned to the more recent pages on your site. As the name suggests, you are going to leave these pages the way they are. While the page may not yet be getting you exceptional results, it might take a bit of time for it to start drawing people in. The worst thing you could do would be to delete a recent page.

Also, if you have an older page that is still drawing in more than 100 visitors per year, you can assume that the page is up to date and that it should be left the way it is.

While pruning pages that are underperforming is usually a good idea, this tag ensures that you won’t end up deleting pages that may not be getting results but still have potential. You should only delete pages that are actively a burden on the site.

301

Let’s say you have a page that isn’t currently generating any traffic and that isn’t linked to any of your pillars. These pages will need to be redirected because they’re dragging your site down and negatively impacting your search results.

Most content auditors would 404 a page like this, but using a 301 redirect will allow you to retain a page that has current links and redirects. This is a less heavy-handed way of deleting or renaming pages.

This will ensure that you lead your visitors to pages that have the right info without losing traffic like you would with a 404.

Archive

What about situations where you have pages that aren’t valuable to search engines but you still want to leave them visible to your site’s visitors? By archiving these pages,. You can ensure that they don’t end up getting crawled by search engines so they don’t end up affecting your search rankings.

For example, a site like BBC may have relevant content that it wants people to still be able to access but they want to retain their search results. In these cases, BBC will archive their content to ensure that it doesn’t end up dragging down the site’s search results.

This is done by altering the URL structure of the pages that you’d like to archive, such as putting them in an /archives/ URL. This is often a good move for older sites that have a large repertoire of content.

This will allow your visitors to access the content by going through the archive section of your site, but this part of your site will also be blocked off to search engines.

Refresh

When you have a page that’s losing keyword rankings and traffic, you’ll want to refresh the content, especially if it has potential to rank higher. All you’ll have to do is update the meta title and description, media, internal links, headings, and potentially even the title.

If you’re working with a pillar page and you have excellent content depth, then you may just need to refresh the URL. This means that you won’t lose the spirit of your site, but it will ensure that the changes are significant enough to return to your previous traffic and engagement levels.

You may wish to change up the title tags, add in more keywords, or even change the title so that it baits more clicks. This will allow you to get more traffic to the page without having to rework it entirely.

Rewrite

If you have the same issues as with a page that needs refreshing but the content lacks depth, then you may end up needing to rewrite the page entirely. This will ensure that your content remains relevant. For example, if your page is about the best way to rank in 2019, that simply won’t fly in 2021.

You’ll need to update the content on that page so that it draws in and retains visitors, so you’ll need a content creator to update the information on that page. Keep a close eye on industry patterns so that you don’t end up having to rewrite the article yet again later on.

Rewriting content ensures that your content is always of the highest quality and it makes your site look good to visitors and the search engine that you’re trying to rank on.

Merge

If you have a few pages that cover the same thing, then it’s a good idea to merge them so they’re not splitting your traffic.

This will make it a lot easier for your visitors to access the content they need without having to visit multiple pages. This will improve visitor retention.

So how do you merge pages? The simplest way is through a 301 redirect. This will allow you to merge the content into one pillar page that contains everything that your visitors need to know about a particular topic, improving content depth.

If you have content that doesn’t have any of the issues we mentioned above but it’s still not ranking, then you may wish to target it with links. This will ensure that you improve the page’s ranking through a link building campaign that will increase the number of inbound links that target it.

Building a Content Report

When you’ve done all of this work, you’ll need to compile it all into a report that will be easy for your client or boss to go over.

Not everyone has the expertise in SEO that’s required to understand a lot of these technicalities. You need to use this report to make it legible for someone outside of your realm of expertise. Since many of these changes will be major, you need to be transparent about why they’re happening.

Avoid putting together complicated spreadsheets that will just result in headaches for whoever’s reading them. Here’s how your report should be organized:

  1. Start with a brief overview of what the client needs to know.

  2. Move on to what you did to find the information that you have.

  3. Cover what info you gleaned from the processes that you implemented.

  4. Explain the hub and spoke model and then go over pillar subjects that are currently on the site.

  5. Go through the results and then discuss the URL actions that you’re currently suggesting to the client.

  6. Summarize what you found needs changing. Explain why some pages need to be merged and why others may need to be archived.

  7. Give a future strategy for how your client’s content needs to be developed if they want to succeed in their SEO approach.

  8. Perform a follow-up call in which you can have a real-time discussion with your client so that they can more easily ask you questions about any concerns that may still exist.

What to Do After Your Content Audit

Keep in mind that content audits are entirely actionable, so you’ll need to go over the results and see what you can do to make the most of what you see. When you do this, go over the results and assign some of the actions that we mentioned up above to the URLs that you see need help. If you don’t take action on the insights you’ve gleaned, then those insights are useless.

Most of the time, you’ll find yourself either spearheading content mergers or rewrites, though there are cases in which you’ll use the other actions, as well.

When you’ve finished auditing the content and compiled a report, send it to the client (if you have one). Explain what’s in the audit and then outline the steps that your client will need to take so that they can make the most of it. Also, be sure to mention deadlines that the client may have to abide by.

Conclusion

You don’t need to make content auditing a challenge for yourself, and it’s even easier if you’re using Ranktracker’s Audit Software. This software allows you to speed up an otherwise time consuming process and ensures that your content marketing approach is as effective as possible.

What we mentioned above should allow you to make the changes you need without hampering your business.

Comments

Try Ranktracker for FREE